Burglar Alarms In Charlotte North Carolina Homes Must Be Registered
This is something you may or may not already know. But, WCNC reports that anyone living in Charlotte or unincorporated areas of Mecklenburg County must comply. Apparently, burglar alarms in Charlotte, North Carolina homes must be registered and permitted. The Charlotte City Council and county commissioners adopted the ordinance in 1996. The ordinance helps prevent the number of false alarms. Reports indicate the Charlotte-Mecklenburg Police Department receives more than 50,000 requests for service from alarm activations each year. And, 98% of the calls end up being false alarms. So, what does this mean for you? If you live within the city of Charlotte or those unincorporated areas of the county, the ordinance requires registration of of the alarm system. And, how do you do that? Residents do this online, by phone or by mail. Call 877-893-5269 to have a form mailed to you, also. But, this is a good reminder that burglar alarms in Charlotte, North Carolina homes must be registered.
And, the false alarm reduction unit is at 601 E. Trade St. in Uptown Charlotte. Permits remain valid for 12 months. This allows tracking of false alarms at each address. And, there are fines associated with excessive false alarms. After three or more, the fine is $50. Then, the fines escalate to $100 for the sixth and seventh false alarm. And, it’s $250 for the 8th and 9th. Finally, ten or more adds up to $500 each. Of course, there is an appeals process for residents who disagree with a false alarm determination. And, the city/county reserves the right to discontinue response to addresses failing to pay valid fines within 30 days. So, make sure to check for unlocked or loose doors or windows that might lead to false alarms. Finally, remember to talk to the kids and cleaning crews or pet sitters about unknowingly activating alarms.