Country Music News

CMT has revealed the top 6 finalists vying for the “Video of the Year” award at the 2023 CMT Music Awards, with fan voting now open at

The final six “Video of the Year” nominees are:

  • Blake Shelton – “No Body”
  • Carrie Underwood – “Hate My Heart”
  • Cody Johnson – “Human”
  • HARDY feat. Lainey Wilson – “wait in the truck”
  • Kane Brown & Katelyn Brown – “Thank God”
  • Morgan Wallen – “You Proof”

Over the past three weeks, fans have cast their votes across all categories, including “Video of the Year,” narrowing down to the top six finalists from the original list of 16 nominees. On the morning of Sunday, April 2nd, these six will be narrowed down to the top three, with voting continuing through the live show, leading up to the big reveal at the end of the night.

Since 2002, CMT’s Video of the Year award has been given out, and the first winner of the honor was Kenny Chesney for 2002’s “Young” video. Carrie Underwood won her first Video of the Year award in 2007 for “Before He Cheats.” Carrie has won the Video of the Year award ten times, including her win with Jason Aldean last year (2022) for their video “If I Didn’t Love You.”

RELATED: Kelsea Ballerini Will Host the 2023 CMT Music Awards in Texas

Kane Brown is set to return as co-host of the 2023 CMT Music Awards, alongside Kelsea Ballerini. The show will take place live from Moody Center in Austin on Sunday, April 2nd (8:00-11:00 PM, ET/PT). The CMT Awards premieres on the CBS Television Network and is available to stream live and on-demand on Paramount+.

Brown will also perform and will  team with his wife Katelyn Brown for the broadcast world premiere of their multi-week #1 hit single, “Thank God.” The history-making duet cements the Browns as the second married couple in country music history to earn a #1 on Billboard and Aircheck charts. The first was Tim McGraw and Faith Hill with 1997’s “It’s Your Love.”

Kane will make his acting debut on the hit new drama Fire Country on Friday (4/7) on CBS. Brown will play Robin, an enigmatic, modern-day train hopper who helps injured patients on the scene of a crash.

CMT's Sixteen 2023 Nominees For Video of The Year

  • Ashley McBryde, Caylee Hammack, Brandy Clark & Pillbox Patti – “Bonfire at Tina’s”

    The song comes from the Lindeville concept album which centers on a fictional town that is home to the various characters that appear in McBryde’s songs.

  • Blake Shelton – “No Body”

    Blake donned a fake mullet like he used to have in the 1990s with this video. The song is from his next album.

  • Carrie Underwood – “Hate My Heart”

    This video was filmed in a club in Nashville. Carrie co-wrote the song with HARDY, Hillary Lindsey, and David Garcia.

  • Cody Johnson – “Human”

    This song comes from Cody’s Human: The Double Album, which is his seventh studio album.

  • Elle King feat. Dierks Bentley – “Worth a Shot”

    King developed the concept for this fun western video, and it was shot in Murfreesboro, Tennessee.

  • Gabby Barrett – “Pick Me Up”

    This video features Barrett’s husband, Cade Foehner, and showcases the journey of a couple as young adults to their elderly years. Gabby admits that she cried once she saw the music video for the first time.

  • HARDY feat. Lainey Wilson – “wait in the truck”

    The video follows the song, depicting a character played by HARDY killing the abuser of a character played by Wilson.

  • Jimmie Allen – “Down Home”

    The song is a tribute to Allen’s father, who died in 2019. Allen shot the video at his childhood house.

  • Kane Brown & Katelyn Brown – “Thank God”

    This video was filmed in Hawaii. The song is the first number one song for the married couple.

  • Keith Urban – “Wild Hearts”

    The song alludes to some moments from Urban’s life, including his childhood memory of seeing Johnny Cash in concert with his father.

  • Kelsea Ballerini – “HEARTFIRST”

    Kelsea said of the song in a statement, “It is the lovechild of The Corrs and Sheryl Crow, with a little Shania sprinkled on top.”

  • Little Big Town – “Rich Man”

    This is a song that Jimi Westbrook wrote. Nashville Actor Charles Esten stars in the video.

  • Luke Bryan – “Country On”

    Luke told us of the song when it came out in July of 2022, “It’s got patriotism in it, it’s got honoring people that keep us free and people that keep us safe and look after us.”

  • Luke Combs – “The Kind of Love We Make”

    This touching video follows the parallel stories of an older and younger couple.

  • Morgan Wallen – “You Proof”

    The song is about “drinking away the memory of a previous lover.” Wallen released it to honor his 29th birthday.

  • Walker Hayes – “AA”

    Walker said in a statement when he released the song, “I’ve struggled with alcohol abuse and sometimes I wish I didn’t need AA, but I do. I think a lot of people can relate to that.”